OCtech Honors Elite Group



Twenty-Seven students were inducted into the Alpha Alpha Delta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, at Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College during ceremonies held on Tuesday, April 30.  

Membership criteria include achieving a grade point ratio of 3.5 or higher with a minimum of 12 credit hours, establishing academic excellence as judged by faculty, and possessing recognized qualities of citizenship.  Phi Theta Kappa was founded in 1918 to emphasize and recognize academic excellence in two-year colleges. Today, it is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.5 million members in the United States, U.S. territories, Canada and Germany.

The students pictured are: (l to r) Julina Ayers, Katie Baltzegar, Joshua Chaplin, Daniel Dees, Ashley Drummond, Shawn Fail, Brittney Hoffman, Laveda Jenkins, Lalisa Jones, Corbin Kline, and Tawanie Shanks.

Officers are: Dawn Bjorge, Quinton Hampton and April Thompson.

The other newly inducted members who were unable to attend the ceremony are:  Monica Gibson, Kelly Gunter, Matthew Haulbrooks, Roger Heatley, Kimberly Helton, Nancy Henson, Dacey Holladay, Brittany Houser, Adrienne Hughes, Jillian James, Dominique Perry, Patricia Poston, Alicia Price, Demeatrice Randolph and Don Tyrone.

The students were selected by the Technical College presidents on the basis of academic performance, leadership accomplishments, and service to their Colleges and to their local communities. 


Back to News Listing