Print this Page


The Lower Savannah Education and Business Alliance was originally chartered as the Orangeburg-Calhoun Tech Prep Consortium.  In 2004, the service-area partnership became the Orangeburg-Calhoun Education and Business Alliance (OCEBA), a team of four school districts, two post-secondary institutions, and several businesses.  OCEBA was one of sixteen Tech Prep Alliances in South Carolina.

In June 2007, OCEBA and the other fifteen Tech Prep Alliances faced a state mandate to disband or restructure because of Perkins funding decisions.  Although most alliances chose not to move forward, the OCEBA Board of Directors agreed to restructure for the purpose of sustaining the progress and maintaining the support that the collaborative organization provides.  OCEBA restructured and expanded through a merger with the Tri-County Workforce Readiness Partnership of Allendale, Bamberg, and Barnwell counties.

By August 1, 2007, the expanded alliance had assumed its new identity as the Lower Savannah Education and Business Alliance (LSEBA), with an active Board of Directors from across the Lower Savannah region. The current Alliance encompasses ten school districts, three post-secondary institutions, and a host of businesses, industries, and service organizations from five counties: Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun, and Orangeburg.

Although the name has changed, the organization still addresses the changing academic and career requirements for the current and future workforce by promoting integrated curricula, college and career readiness, comprehensive career guidance, dual-enrollment, work-based learning opportunities, and business/industry linkages to ensure that students transition smoothly from high school to college and/or to the workplace.

Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College continues to serve as the Alliance's fiscal and administrative agent.